WWW Wednesdays

                                          WWW Wednesday

“WWW Wednesdays is a bookish meme originating with “Should Be Reading.”

To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions: 

  • What are you currently reading? 
  • What did you recently finish reading? 
  • What do you think you’ll read next? 

My answers will refer to print books: 

  • What are you currently reading? 

By Nightfall (by Michael Cunningham) – So far, it sems to be about a middle-aged white man in SoHo NYC who seems to have a lot of inner angst about maybe being gay and; is definitely insecure around women. I wonder if Michael Cunningham knows Ian McEwan? Why? I dunno, maybe they could both talk about taking themselves too seriously (cf Saturday by Ian McEwan.)

  • What did you recently finish reading? 

We the Animals (by Justin Torres) – What a fierce little book! It’s about a young half- Peurto-Rican/half-white boy living somewhere north of New York City in an environment of survival. One of a pack of two parents and two other brothers, the protagonist struggles for identity amidst the pathos of love. The bathtub scene? Like a Pieta… emotionally, it slayed me. 

  • What do you think you’ll read next? 

I’m going to read the first two parts of In the Garden of Beasts (by Erik Larson.) I tried to read Devil in the White City (Erik Larson’s last big book) a couple of years ago; but without much success. I thought the writing was boring, so I’m a little wary of this other book by the same author; but this time, there’s an informal discussion about In the Garden of Beasts on the Books on the Nightstand group on goodreads, Read & discuss a book together? and I’m hoping with the group’s support I’ll be able to get through it. Why bother at all? Because I do think it will pay off in terms of being discussion-worthy and; so when other people talk about it in the future, I’ll know what we’re talking about :-/

I’ll also be reading another two chapters of A Distant Mirror (by Barbara Tuchman.) I originally started reading this as a part of a History Book Club selection; but I left the group. I still liked the idea of parsing out the book over a period of weeks so I sit in the library for a couple of hours every Sunday while my daughter attends to an Origami class. For those of you who don’t recognize the title, it’s a non-fiction history of the fourteenth century in England and France, using the de Coucy family as the focal lens.

On Sunday, I’ll be starting Finn (by Jon Clinch.) I’m not sure what it’s about exactly yet; but I did read The Adventures of Tom Sawyer and The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn (both by Mark Twain) earlier this year in anticipation of reading this book. I think it’s spin-off of Huckleberry Finn. Jon Clinch was an author at The Books on the Nightstand Retreat this past April which is where and how he came onto my reading radar. 


Leave a Reply

