WWW Wednesdays

WWW Wednesday

WWW Wednesdays is a bookish meme originating with “Should Be Reading.” To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions:


  • What are you currently reading?

I’ve just started Susan Gregg Gilmore’s The Improper Life of Bezellia Grove. It’s the story of a girl who meets a boy; but the catch is that she’s a rich white girl and he’s a poor black boy and; Nashville in the pre-/anti-revolutionary 1960’s is not the time and place for such a thing. I’ve only read a couple of chapters so far; but I already know this time, these people and this place even though it happened before my time, the characters are fictional and, I’ve only been to Nashville as a tourist (stop on the pilgrimage to Graceland.) Susan Gregg Gilmore has managed to evoke the world of Bezellia, not just her surroundings, but her interior life as a girl from an old family and who is desperate for the love and affection of her mother. It’s already a little heartbreaking and painful…


  • What did you recently finish reading?

I finished reading Finn (by Jon Clinch.) It’s the backstory of Finn, Huckleberry Finn’s father from Mark Twain’s classic tales. The writing was very moody and haunting. So haunting, in fact that I had a nightmare involving elements from the book:

I was in the Texas room of a steamboat paddle wheeler. I was hiding out from Finn. All the lights were on and the heavy drapes were closed, emitting only a sliver of light from within. The idea was that no one would hide in a room with the lights on and, the curtains were probably drawn for other reasons of privacy, so Finn wouldn’t think of looking in there. I was playing  a very elaborate sort of cribbage game with my husband when, somehow, one of the drapes was drawn aside revealing me! Finn made a beeline for the boat (which was docked) and approached me with his sidekick shadowing his heels. At this point my husband and Finn’s sidekick just became bystanders. Finn, who is bald (instead of having the long black locks in the book) approaches. I don’t make a move, realizing that, with what I’m about to do, I only have one shot. He gets close and I’m thinking, “Oh shit, I’ve waiting too long…” and then , I swing a bright shiny axe and cleave his head like a watermelon. He stands there for a moment, at which instant I’m now thinking, “Oh shit, it didn’t work…” when he finally collapses to his knees. The end.

So yeah, Finn is the kind of book that inspires those kinds of dreams :-/


  • What do you think you’ll read next?

I’m leaning toward something off of my Ten on Tuesday list: A Very Bad Beginning (A Series of Unfortunate Events #1 by Lemony Snicket) because 1) I have got to get a move on with regard to the What’s in a Name? 4 Challenge! I mean BethFishReads is already plotting What’s in a Name? 5! and; 2) I need something a little lighter after Finn. The whole Finn experience may be why I’m picking my way through The Improper Life of Bezellia Grove right now. I’m somewhat sensitized to literary pain!

I’ll also be reading the same two chapters of In the Garden of Beasts (by Erik Larson) that I was supposed to be reading last week. I just didn’t get around to it and, even though no one’s keeping track of my progress, I feel a need to “catch up!” It would be too easy to let this one go and I really want to finish it.

And the same with  the next chapter of A Distant Mirror (by Barbara Tuchman.) I usually read from the Tuchman tome on Sundays; but this past Sunday I was at the Oregon State Fair which involved looking at livestock, playing games on the midway, and risking such gastronomic curiosities as Deep Fried Coca Cola…

Leave a Reply

