To Be Read Piles

Over at Skippen’s blog, he posted about “To Be Read Piles…” which reminded me of my own efforts to regularly post my “Ten on Tuesday.” After not getting much feedback from the posts, I had aborted the feature; but I think I’ll resurrect it as a matter of practice 🙂

Last week, my list looked like this:

  1. The Scarlet Letter (by Nathanial Hawthorne)
  2. Alias Shakespeare (by Joseph Sobran)
  3. Twelfth Night (by William Shakespeare)
  4. Illrya (by Elizabeth Hand)
  5. The Handmaid’s Tale (by Margaret Atwood)
  6. The Unit (by Ninni Holmqvist)
  7. When She Woke (by Hilary Jordan; narrated by Heather Corrigan)
  8. The Blind Assassin (by Margaret Atwood)
  9. Alias Grace (by Margaret Atwood)
  10. The Year of the Flood (by Margaret Atwood; narrated by Mark Bramhall, Bernadette Dunne and, Kristy McNichol)

This week, my list looks quite a bit different:

  1. The Handmaid’s Tale (by Margaret Atwood)
  2. The Unit (by Ninni Holmqvist)
  3. When She Woke (by Hilary Jordan; narrated by Heather Corrigan)
  4. Goldfinger (by Ian Fleming; narrated by Simon Vance)
  5. Running the Rift (by Naomi Benaron)
  6. Alias Grace (by Margaret Atwood)
  7. The Year of the Flood (by Margaret Atwood; narrated by Mark Bramhall, Bernadette Dunne and, Kristy McNichol)
  8. Emma (by Jane Austen)
  9. Enough About Love (by Herve LeTellier)
  10. Something Missing (by Emily Griffin)

The thing is, my lists serve as a guide as to what I might pick up next; but I’m flexible. I’m not reading to win a race or earn credits and; I don’t review ARCs. Sometimes I run out of time: For instance, I really want to read and review Emma in early February; but in order to do that, I realistically am going to have to bump one or two of the Atwood novels I had been planning to clear off of my TBR stacks. Sometime my reading leads me in different directions: I might just have easily gone off and read Miller’s The Crucible or read Sarah Vowell’s The  Wordy Shipmate; but maybe later, LOL. Sometimes new releases bully their way in (even now I’m plotting how to squeeze in Jesmyn Ward’s Salvage the Bones) or a challenge or book club deadline will loom (Goldfinger and Running the Rift respectively). Other times, just plain old real life intrudes. So why keep a list at all? Because sometimes when I dither, when I can’t decide what to read next, the lists help me out. They help manage my reading and my blogging 🙂

Leave a Reply

