My Future Self: Head to Toe

My Future Self is a feature predicated on the idea that if I am unhappy with the way things are, I need to affect change. It is not enough to complain about something; I must come up with solutions. On my regular blog, My Future Self has taken the form of de-cluttering and organizing my home office/library. On this blog, I’m going to focus on my physical self. The first phase of My Future Self: Head to Toe will last approximately 46 days or; more specifically from Ash Wednesday to Easter Sunday. It should be noted that the change is not going to be dramatic like those makeover shows on television. My goals are modest: to lose a few pounds, get a more flattering haircut, see a doctor or two…

To understand something of my challenge you first have to know what I look like:    

                             Head 2 toe_Body Shot

Now, I’m not going to spend a lot of time itemizing exactly what my issues are today; and I certainly don’t need you to tell me what they are (I’m very aware)! The important thing to know is that I am unhappy with the way I look because 1) this state of corporeal being is not in anyway what I’m used to being like and 2) I’m now approaching some serious health issues if I don’t deal with said corporeal being more responsibly.

As we progress through Lent, I hope to tackle some of my problems with brutal honesty and humor; and I hope you’ll chime in with constructive criticism, advice and support. Ideally, I hope that some of what I’m dealing with will help and maybe inspire someone else. In lieu of a Red Dress, my final After photo for this inital phase will be me in a red t-shirt and a pair of black jeans!

Leave a Reply

