Ten On Tuesday: 02/21/2012

I finally wrapped up Dispatches (by Michael Herr; narrated by Ray Porter)! At first I was trying too hard to make sense of Herr’s writing, which is a sort of drug induced impressionism; but after I stopped working so hard at listening and just let it wash over me, the images coalesced into the Battle of Khe Sanh with what can only be described as a sort of emotive clarity. I actually had a nightmare where fear slithered around me like snakes!

To get ready for this week-end’s twitter viewing party of Quantum of Solace (starring Daniel Craig,) I’m listening to the first five stories in the short story collection, Quantum of Solace (by Ian Flaming; narrated by Simon Vance.) Of the nine stories in the book, three movies (A View to A Kill, For Your Eyes Only and Quantum of Solace) have been made from the first five shorts (“From a View to a Kill,” “For Your Eyes Only,” “Quantum of Solace,” “Risico” and “The HIldebrand Party.”) The next three shorts (“Octopussy,” “The Property of a Lady” and, “The Living Daylights”) were the basis for the films Octopussy and The Living Daylights; and I’ll be listening to those stories, as well as the short story unique to the QOS collection “007 in New York” when the group watches Octopussy. BTW, If you would like to join us for the half hour book discussion and viewing party, you can check out the schedule at the Shaken Not Stirred site. “Newbies” are welcome 🙂

I’m slowly plugging along with my print reading. My pace is much slower this year and, even given that I’m working on my home office excavation, even I am startled at how far “behind” I am. I have a goodreads 12×12 Challenge goal of 144 titles and I’m something like 8 books behind! I’m not worried though. I figure I’ll catch up in May (zombie and graphic novel month.) That said, I hope to finish The Blind Assassin this week-end and then head into something light like Something Borrowed (by Emily Griffin) before picking up the next Atwood on my list, Alias Grace. I seem to be on something of an Atwood kick right now and am also considering  picking up her essay collection, In Other Worlds: SF and the Human Imagination


  1. Quantum of Solace (Bond Novel #8; by Ian Fleming; narrated by Simon Vance)
  2. The Blind Assassin (by Margaret Atwood)
  3. Duchess in Love (The Duchess Quartet, Book #1; by Eloisa James; narrated by Justine Eyre)
  4. Julius Caeser (by William Shakespeare; performed by a full cast)
  5. Something Borrowed (by Emily Griffin)
  6. Alias Grace (by Margaret Atwood)
  7. The Ghosts of Belfast (Jack Lennon Novels, Book #1; by Stuart Neville; narrated by Gerard Doyle)
  8. Emma (by Jane Austen)
  9. Enough About Love (by Herve LeTellier)
  10. The Kite Runner (by Khaled Hosseini)

My regular blogging isn’t as robust as I would like either; but I’m resisting putting meaningless content on it and also trying to post reviews on significant dates. For instance, my review of Dispatches will go up on July 9, the anniversary of the last day of the battle of Khe Sanh. We’ll see how this works out 🙂  

Leave a Reply

