Ten On Tuesday: 03/13/2012

Sigh. There it still sits: The Blind Assassin (by Margaret Atwood.) Will I ever to get around to finishing it?

I’m making much more progress on the audiobook front! I finished The Ghosts of Belfast (Jack Lennon Novels, Book #1; by Stuart Neville; narrated by Gerard Doyle) and reviewed it on my blog and; I’ve started participating in The Armchair Audies! Jennifer/@lithousewife is hosting The Armchair Audies: Participants pick a category from the APA Audie Awards and listen to the five finalists in that category; write and post a review on each of the audiobooks and; pick a winner! Come the big day (06/05/2012) in NYC, we’ll see who actually wins and compare 🙂 To that end, I’ve decided to listen to as many Blackstone produced and Grover Gardner narrated audiobooks as possible within the next couple of months (see The Armchair Audies: The Bad Employee/Bad Wife Edition.) After I listened to The Mark of Zorro (based on the novel by Johnston McCullers; dramatized by Yuri Rasovsky; performed by a full cast starring Val Kilmer,) I realized that the Audio Drama category is one I should be easily able to complete for The Armchair Audies and so, I’m in for that category to start! I may end up picking up Mystery as well, since I’m already planning on listening to three out of the five finalists; but I don’t want to overcommit. Anyway, in the Audio Drama category, I’ve also already listened to The Graduate (based on the novel by Charles Webb and the screenplay by Calder Willingham and Buck Henry; dramatized by Terry Johnson; performed by a full cast starring Kathleen Turner and Matthew Rhys) and; I’m currently listening to I, Claudius (by Robert Graves; performed by a full cast starring Derek Jacobi.)

I also listened to Julius Caeser (by William Shakespeare; performed by a full cast starring Ralph Richardson) and have a post to go up on The Ides of March 🙂

  1. The Blind Assassin (by Margaret Atwood)
  2. I, Claudius (by Robert Graves; performed by a full cast starring Derek Jacobi)
  3. The New Adventures of Mickey Spillane’s Mike Hammer, Vol. 2 (by Max Allan Collins and Mickey Spillane; performed by a full cast starring Stacey Keach)
  4. The New Adventures of Mickey Spillane’s Mike Hammer, Vol. 3 (by Max Allan Collins and Mickey Spillane; performed by a full cast starring Stacey Keach)
  5. Something Borrowed (by Emily Griffin)
  6. Alias Grace (by Margaret Atwood)
  7. Emma (by Jane Austen)
  8. Enough About Love (by Herve LeTellier)
  9. The Kite Runner (by Khaled Hosseini)
  10. The Royal Road to Fotheringhay (by Jean Plaidy)

My print reading is really taking a beating! At the end of last year, I had committed to a couple of challenges with a great deal of enthusiasm and optimism; but I really don’t think I’m going to be able to complete them. So far, I have yet to complete even one book for either the Back to the Classics Challenge or The Mount TBR Challenge. I’m not going to stress about it and neither have I completely given up hope; but Emma is looking farther and farther away all the time!

Leave a Reply

