Ten on Tuesday: 03/20/2012

Now there are two Ten on Tuesday lists! One is for print and one is for audio!

PRINT

I finished The Blind Assassin (by Margaret Atwood!) I loved it! I can’t quite pin it down; but there’s something about Margaret Atwood’s writing, whether it’s dystopian or lit-fic, that makes absolute sense to me. It’s the kind of writing wherein I recognize the voice of the story and trust it to lead me to new places. 

I’m going away for a few days next week and I’m taking some bloggy things with me; but not a fresh book! it is extremely unlikely that I will be able to pause long enough to settle into a story; But when I get back, I’m on to something lighter in fare, Something Borrowed (by Emily Griffin.) Originally I had planned to read this in February as a part of a Romance-themed month; but the idea of themed months went quickly by the wayside. I’ll read and review it; and next February I’ll remind everyone about it 🙂

  1. Something Borrowed (by Emily Griffin)
  2. Alias Grace (by Margaret Atwood) – Mount TBR
  3. Emma (by Jane Austen) – Back to the Classics; Mount TBR
  4. Enough About Love (by Herve LeTellier)
  5. The Kite Runner (by Khaled Hosseini) – What’s in a Name? Challenge #5
  6. The Royal Road to Fotheringhay (by Jean Plaidy) – Mount TBR
  7. The First Days (by Rhiannon Frater)
  8. Pest Control (by Bill Hughes) – What’s in a Name? Challenge #5
  9. The Religion (by Tim Willocks) – Mount TBR
  10. The Time Traveler’s Wife (by Audrey Neffenegger) – Mount TBR


AUDIO

I’m participating in The Armchair Audies (hosted by @lithousewife at literatehousewife.com. Participants listen to each of the finalists in a category of The APA Audie Awards, review, pick a winner, and then see if their picks match up with the actual winners (to be announced in NYC on 06/05/2012.) My category is Audio Drama; but I’m also going to listen to as many of the Blackstone nominated titles as possible and; if I have time, to the audio nominated by Grover Gardner, One Dog Night (by David Rosenfelt.)

In the Audio Drama category, I’ve already listened to The Mark of Zorro, The Graduate, and I, Claudius. I’m waiting for the arrival of The Arthur Miller Collection CDs (unavailable as a digital dnload) and I’ll wait closer to May (Zombie Month) to listen to We’re Alive, Season 1.

I’ve also listened to The New Adventures of Mickey Spillane’s Mike Hammer, Vol. 2: “The Little Death” and The New Adventures of Mickey Spillane’s Mike Hammer, Vol. 3: “Encore for Murder” (2011 Audie Award Winner for Best Original Work and  2012 Audie Award Finalist for Best Original Work respectively) and have to be honest and admit that I don’t think that I’m a Mike Hammer fan. I’m afraid that the idea of sixty-somethings running around acting like twenty-somethings (including Velda, who runs around in pink lace lingere) offends my tender sensibilities! And too, I’m not crazy about the overall production quality in that the SFXs are rather artlessly edited in. Still they were better than the first volume and I might give one of the straight-narration Mike Hammer books (by Mickey Spillane and Max Allan Collins) a go.

  1. Resolving Everyday Conflict (by Ken Sande and Kevin Johnson; narrated by Maurice England) – Inspirational/Faith-Based Non-Fiction
  2. We’re Alive, Season 1 (by Kc Wayland; performed by a full cast) – Audio Drama
  3. The Arthur Miller Collection (by Arthur Miller; performed by full casts) – Audio Drama
  4. The Bone House (by Brian Freeman; narrated by Joe Barrett) – Thriller/Suspense
  5. Silent Scream (by Karen Rose; narrated by Marguerite Gavin) – Thriller/Suspense
  6. Out of My Head (a.k.a Unknown) by Didier Van Cauwelaert; narrated by Bronson Pinchot) – Thriller/Suspense
  7. The 4% Universe (by Richard Penak; narrated by Ray Porter) – Non-Fiction
  8. My Korean Deli (by Ben Ryder Howe; narrated by Bronson Pinchot) – Non-Fiction
  9. Rumo and His Miraculous Adventures (by Walter Moers; narrated by Bronson Pinchot) – Fantasy
  10. My Dog Tulip (by J.R. Ackerley; narrated by Ralph Cosham) – Biography/Memoir
Leave a Reply

