Ten On Tuesday: 04/04/2012

PRINT

I finished up Accidents of Providence (by Stacia M. Brown) last week-end. I picked it up to participate in an online discussion hosted by Jennifer/@lithousewife at literatehousewife.com  on April 19, 2012; but the material fit in very well thematically with some other books I read earlier this year: The Scarlet Letter (by Nathanial Hawthorne), The Handmaid’s Tale (by Margaret  Atwood) and; When She Woke (by Hilary Jordan.) I don’t read with a feminist’s agenda in mind; but it certainly looks to have turned out that way!

I picked up and managed to polish off Something Borrowed (by Emily Giffin) in one afternoon! It was exactly what it promised to be, something light – exactly what I need before I jump back into more Margaret Atwood (Alias Grace)! Oh, and by the way, I was just at The Rogue Book Exchange and picked up two more Margaret Atwood titles: Life Before Man and Wilderness Tips. I’m not sure when I’ll get to them, but I’m gonna try and squeeze them in this year 🙂

Actually, Something Borrowed wasn’t quite enough of a counterweight to Margaret Atwood, so I”m going to pick up The First Days (by Rhiannn Frater) first. Something Borrowed was a  romance novel without sex – more like a light chick-lit book. It was about a 30 year old lawyer who sleeps with her best friend’s fiancee. I’m not sure what I thought it might be when I picked it up, maybe something on the order of Helen Fielding (Bridget Jones’ Diary) or even Plum Sykes (The Debutante Divorcée); but it really wasn’t even that.

The First Days (by Rhiannon Frater) looks like a Thelma and Louise adventure  – with zombies! It’s not a mash-up and, I’m only going off of the cover blurb (which can be notoriously deceptive); but we’ll see…

  1. Alias Grace (by Margaret Atwood) – Mount TBR
  2. Emma (by Jane Austen) – Back to the Classics; Mount TBR
  3. Enough About Love (by Herve LeTellier)
  4. The Kite Runner (by Khaled Hosseini) – What’s in a Name? Challenge #5
  5. The Royal Road to Fotheringhay (by Jean Plaidy) – Mount TBR
  6. The First Days (by Rhiannon Frater)
  7. Pest Control (by Bill Hughes) – What’s in a Name? Challenge #5
  8. The Religion (by Tim Willocks) – Mount TBR
  9. The Time Traveler’s Wife (by Audrey Neffenegger) – Mount TBR
  10. Netherland (by JOseph O’Neill)


AUDIO

I finished listening to Unknown (A Special Edition of Out of My Head; by Didier Van Cauwelaert; narrated by Bronson Pinchot) a few days ago. I really liked it overall and can see why Hollywood wanted to make a film out of it. The ending wasn’t as fleshed out as it could have been, which I suspect is what ignited the imagination of the screen playwrights, Oliver Butcher and Stephen Cornwell. I haven’t seen the movie yet and hadn’t wanted to (not a big Liam Neeson fan); but now I really want to see it just for their take on the ending!

I’ve started The Arthur Miller Collection (by Arthur Miller; full cast performances of ten of Arthur Miller’s plays). If I listen to one play a day, I’ll be in good shape to get the titles  down for the Armchair Audies/Audio Drama category and, get a head start on a couple zombie titles for May (zombie month) as well as the Shaken Not Stirred audios.

  1. Thunderball (James Bond Novel; by Ian Fleming; narrated by Simon Vance) – Shaken Not Stirred
  2. We’re Alive, Season 1 (by Kc Wayland; performed by a full cast) – Audio Drama
  3. Zombiestan (by Mainak Dhar; narrated by John Lee)
  4. The Bone House (by Brian Freeman; narrated by Joe Barrett) – Thriller/Suspense
  5. Silent Scream (by Karen Rose; narrated by Marguerite Gavin) – Thriller/Suspense
  6. My Dog Tulip (by J.R. Ackerley; narrated by Ralph Cosham) – Biography/Memoir
  7. The 4% Universe (by Richard Penak; narrated by Ray Porter) – Non-Fiction
  8. My Korean Deli (by Ben Ryder Howe; narrated by Bronson Pinchot) – Non-Fiction
  9. The 13-1/2 Lives of Captain Bluebear (by Walter Moers; narrated by Bronson Pinchot) – Fantasy
  10. Rumo and His Miraculous Adventures (by Walter Moers; narrated by Bronson Pinchot) – Fantasy
Leave a Reply

