PRINT

I started The First Days: As the World Dies (by Rhiannon Frater) and quite frankly, it’s a piece of crap. I’ve ranted about it a little on twitter:

dogearedcopyApr 04, 10:13pm via HootSuite

I’ve gotten to page 107 of The First Days (by Rhiannon Frater) and I have to say this is absolutely craptastic!

I’m really torn btw finishing it 4 the pure pleasure of being able 2 eviscerate what little there is of it in convos w/my zombie friends…


And putting myself out this misery by DNF-ing it. This should’ve definitely stayed on the internet & not become the waste of trees it is now


How bad is it? It’s like Konrath was Frater’s mentor. Stupid, superficial writing, attempts at emotional manipulation are pathetic…


And gratuitous everything.Plus there’s no elegance to the writing *at all*. Also, clearly no editorial oversight.


I’m sorry to rant on so; but this is the sort of waste of resources and my time & money that enrages me.


… Maybe it would have been better in audio!


The dynamic btw the two women doesn’t seem “right” somehow. Perhaps because RF didn’t have a strong idea of the 2 women…


as being real (relatively speaking.) Also, actions all seem superficial… lacking the traction of being realistic…


So far, the only thing that seems grounded is the driving on the roads/highways and using a map :-/


But even there, the scenery seems very stagey in description :-/

Ultimately, I decided to DNF it and move on. But I haven’t started another book yet to be honest. Instead, last night I watched some [gasp!] TV! Next up though:

  1. Alias Grace (by Margaret Atwood) – Mount TBR
  2. Emma (by Jane Austen) – Back to the Classics; Mount TBR
  3. Enough About Love (by Herve LeTellier)
  4. The Kite Runner (by Khaled Hosseini) – What’s in a Name? Challenge #5
  5. The Royal Road to Fotheringhay (by Jean Plaidy) – Mount TBR
  6. The First Days (by Rhiannon Frater)
  7. Pest Control (by Bill Hughes) – What’s in a Name? Challenge #5
  8. The Religion (by Tim Willocks) – Mount TBR
  9. The Time Traveler’s Wife (by Audrey Neffenegger) – Mount TBR
  10. Netherland (by JOseph O’Neill)


AUDIO

I’ve listened to the first couple of plays in The Arthur Miller Collection (by Arthur Miller; full cast performances of ten of Arthur Miller’s plays): The Man who Had All the Luck, All My Sons and Death of a Salesman. The performances have been very uneven; and the addition is interviews after the plays – while interesting, make me feel like I’m being educated rather than being entertained. I’m going to stop for a few days to make sure I get Thunderball in before next week’s #ShakenNotStirred event; then it will be back to the plays.

  1. Thunderball (James Bond Novel; by Ian Fleming; narrated by Simon Vance) – Shaken Not Stirred
  2. We’re Alive, Season 1 (by Kc Wayland; performed by a full cast) – Audio Drama
  3. Zombiestan (by Mainak Dhar; narrated by John Lee)
  4. The Bone House (by Brian Freeman; narrated by Joe Barrett) – Thriller/Suspense
  5. Silent Scream (by Karen Rose; narrated by Marguerite Gavin) – Thriller/Suspense
  6. My Dog Tulip (by J.R. Ackerley; narrated by Ralph Cosham) – Biography/Memoir
  7. The 4% Universe (by Richard Penak; narrated by Ray Porter) – Non-Fiction
  8. My Korean Deli (by Ben Ryder Howe; narrated by Bronson Pinchot) – Non-Fiction
  9. The 13-1/2 Lives of Captain Bluebear (by Walter Moers; narrated by Bronson Pinchot) – Fantasy
  10. Rumo and His Miraculous Adventures (by Walter Moers; narrated by Bronson Pinchot) – Fantasy
Leave a Reply

