32/40: A Greyhound of a Girl (by Roddy Doyle)

image

A Greyhound of a Girl

by Roddy Doyle

Published in 2012 by Marion Lloyd

Mary O’Hara, a twelve-year old whose grandmother is dying, meets a ghost in Dublin, Ireland in the current time and about a hundred years after Mara’s great-grandmother had passed away.The ghost appears in order to help Mara’s grandmother through the transition from this life to the after-life by providing assurance/easing the dying woman’s fears. This is a YA book that will most likely appeal more to girls in the 8-12 age group: It’s deals with four generations of women and the legacy of eternal, maternal love. A Greyhound of a Girl doesn’t have the humor or zing that The Barrytown Trilogy books do; but Roddy Doyle is still amazing with his ability to create scenes and mood with a deft artistry that also allows the reader’s imagination to go to work.  

OTHER:  I borrowed a hardback edition of A Greyhound of a Girl (by Roddy Doyle) from the Jackson County LIbrary System (Southern Oregon.) 

I receive no monies, goods or services in exchange for reviewing the product and/or mentioning any of the persons or companies that are or may be implied in this post. 

I challenged myself to read forty books this summer and made it! Reviews, however, have been slower in coming. I had thought to post the rest of my reviews by the end of September; but earlier this month I was in a car accident. I walked away without serious injury but I’ve had a difficult time focusing on some stuff like writing/posting reviews. So, I’ve decided to extend my self-imposed deadline to the end of October 🙂

Leave a Reply

