33/40: Persepolis (by Marjane Satrapi)

image

Persepolis: The Story of a Childhood  

by Marjane Satrapi

Published on 2012 by Pantheon

Marjane Satrapi recounts her childhood in Iran during a fourteen year period that included the overthrow of the Shah, the Islamic Revolution (1979) and the war with Iraq (1980-88.) Politically savvy by virtue of being related to an imperial line and the daughter of Marxists, Marjane Satrapi tells her story through intense black-and-white panels with a highly stylized look nearly abstract in form. Readers unfamiliar with Middle Eastern history may need help to put things in context (google is your friend) but it’s worth the effort. The story is powerful both for it’s brutal telling and for it’s emotional punch. I cringed at her friends and families’ bewilderment at the Iraqis’ sudden upgrade in missile ordinance and was actually surprised that there were no recriminating fingers pointed at the U.S. for its military aid to the Iraqis at this time. Still, Persepolis is an amazing work of reportage, memoir and art.

image

OTHER:  I borrowed a paperback edition of Persepolis (by Marjane Satrapi) from the Jackson County Library System (Southern Oregon.) 

I receive no monies, goods or services in exchange for reviewing the product and/or mentioning any of the persons or companies that are or may be implied in this post. 

I challenged myself to read forty books this summer and made it! Reviews, however, have been slower in coming. I had thought to post the rest of my reviews by the end of September; but earlier this month I was in a car accident. I walked away without serious injury but I’ve had a difficult time focusing on some stuff like writing/posting reviews. So, I’ve decided to extend my self-imposed deadline to the end of October 🙂

Leave a Reply

