Armchair Audies 2015


armchairaudies-300x300

This is the fourth year of the Armchair Audies! Every year since its inaugural year in 2012, participants of the Armchair Audies choose a category of finalists from the Audiobook Publishers’ Association’s annual awards, The Audies. I’ve picked a different category each year, and not only been treated to some of the best that the audiobook industry has to offer; but expanded my listening horizons. For the first year, I listened to all the finalists in the Audio Drama category; in 2013, Children’s Audiobook (Ages 8-12); and in 2014, Humor. This year, I’ve chosen two categories: “Narration by the Author or Author(s)” and “Autobiography/Memoir.” If you are interested in joining me in this or taking another category altogether, you can sign up by contacting Jennifer (@lithousewife on Twitter) or checking out the Armchair Audies site ­čÖé

Narration by Author(s)

  • Narration by the Author or Author(s)

    A Fighting Chance (written and narrated by Elizabeth Warren)
    Herbie Hancock: Possibilities (written by Herbie Hancock with Lisa Dickey; narrated by Herbie Hancock)
    Not My Father’s Son (written and narrated by Alan Cumming)
    What I Know for Sure (written and narrated by Oprah Winfrey)
    Yes, Please (written by Amy Poehler; narrated by Amy Poehler with additional performances by Carol Burnett, Seth Meyers,Eileen Poehler, William Poehler, Mike Schur,  Patrick Stewart, and Kathleen Turner)

    Autobiography:Memoir

  • Autobiography/Memoir

    Daring: My Passages – A Memoir (written by Gail Sheehy; narrated by Bernadette Dunne)
    Living On Air: Adventures in Broadcasting (by Joe Cipriano and Ann Cipriano; narrated by Joe Cipriano)
    My Life in Middlemarch (by Rebecca Mead; narrated by Kate Reading)
    Not My Father’s Son (written and narrated by Alan Cumming)
    Yes, Please (written by Amy Poehler; narrated by Amy Poehler with additional performances by Carol Burnett, Seth Meyers,Eileen Poehler, William Poehler, Mike Schur,  Patrick Stewart, and Kathleen Turner)
One thought on “Armchair Audies 2015

  1. I really wish I could get into audio fiction, but it’s the nonfiction I’m more drawn to with audio, for whatever reason. Maybe because it doesn’t involve characters! This looks like fun and I’m sure Sheila at Book Journey is involved! ­čÖé

    Like

Leave a Reply

